Rachel’s Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

It’s time for something sweet!  These cookies are my Aunt Rachel’s recipe, and are the best chocolate chip cookies you’ll ever eat.  Growing up I would go to my Aunt Rachel’s house in Chester, Vermont for weeks at a time in the summer.  My cousins and I would have the best time picking blueberries and raspberries to turn into pies or jam (the bushes were right outside their front door), feeding their horses, swimming in the pond, and eating family meals around their country table.  I don’t necessarily remember these cookies as a kid, but I dream about them as an adult.  They are perfectly sweet, salty, and chewy.  Thank you, Rachel!

IMG_0911

I am from the, take them out of the oven under baked, cookie camp, but if you are from the, crispy cookie camp, just let them bake longer than I suggest.  These delicious cookies bake in about 8 minutes, 9 to 10 when coming from the freezer.  I like to bake as I eat, meaning, I usually only bake about 6 to 8 cookies at a time, then take the leftover dough (sometimes left in the mixing bowl (covered) overnight) and roll it into balls using a cookie scoop. Put each perfectly sized cookie dough ball into ziploc bags (I can usually get 9 in a sandwich bag, then store all the bags in a larger freezer bag) and put them in the freezer for fresh baked cookies whenever you want (which is often for me)!  I also like to put my cookie dough in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes before the first round of baking to ensure I don’t have flat cookies.  I do highly recommend using a cookie scoop.  Okay, enjoy the cookies.  It is getting to be that time of year!

Rachel’s Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1 stick of softened butter (Cabot or good quality butter)
  • 1/2 cup Canola Oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt (if you are using salted butter use 1/2 tsp salt)
  • 2 cups unbleached white flour (King Arthur is great)
  • 3/4 cup of Quaker Oats 1minute Oatmeal (you may need to add more depending on the cookie dough consistency; I usually end up using 1 cup)
  • 1 – 12 ounce bag of chocolate chips (I like Nestle)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Mix the butter and sugars until light and fluffy (I use my Kitchen-aid stand mixer with the paddle attachment), then add the oil, eggs, and vanilla.  Mix well.  In a separate bowl whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt.  Slowly add the dry ingredients, then add the oats, and finally chocolate chips.  If the dough looks a little too wet add a touch more oats.  Take your time though and don’t over mix the dough.  Scoop in to balls using your cookie scoop and place on a silpat, or parchment paper, lined baking sheet.

Bake for 8 to 10 minutes or until the bottoms look a done (golden brown).  Typically at this point the entire cookie may not look done, but leave them on the baking sheet for a good 10 minutes after taking them out of the oven.

Bake them all right away or roll them up into balls and store for a later baking date!  Any way you do it, I hope you enjoy these delicious cookies!

IMG_0912

2 comments

Leave a Reply

